HolidayBuyer's Guide

Laptops forum

General discussion

A Good Laptop Keyboard Design -- Suggestions?

by kailash12dec / February 24, 2006 7:48 AM PST

All I essentially need is an excellent keyboard -- I am a writer, and am looking for something that entails the greatest amount of comfort while typing; I've tried a few Dell models, but their keyboard design is not raised (like it brilliantly was in the old-school Inspiron 5000e days), which I find awkward, if not disappointing (i.e. my thumb keeps hitting the bottom border below the spacekey). My eye is on a low-level IBM Thinkpad z60m (1.4 Ghz, 256 RAM); so far as I can tell the keyboard looks brilliant -- does anyone have any other recommendations that perhaps are a little cheaper? All I ask for is a model that has its keyboard raised -- also, a decent battery (at least three hours of life for the primary). Also, I would prefer to keep it below $1000 -- ideally in the $600-900 range.

Should I go with the Thinkpad?

Discussion is locked
You are posting a reply to: A Good Laptop Keyboard Design -- Suggestions?
The posting of advertisements, profanity, or personal attacks is prohibited. Please refer to our CNET Forums policies for details. All submitted content is subject to our Terms of Use.
Track this discussion and email me when there are updates

If you're asking for technical help, please be sure to include all your system info, including operating system, model number, and any other specifics related to the problem. Also please exercise your best judgment when posting in the forums--revealing personal information such as your e-mail address, telephone number, and address is not recommended.

You are reporting the following post: A Good Laptop Keyboard Design -- Suggestions?
This post has been flagged and will be reviewed by our staff. Thank you for helping us maintain CNET's great community.
Sorry, there was a problem flagging this post. Please try again now or at a later time.