Networking & Wireless forum

Question

2 PCs in network unable to "see" each other

by c---net / May 11, 2015 12:48 AM PDT

I'm not an expert on networking, so please bear with me if the answer to this issue is obvious!

I have been operating for some time without problems with a home network based on a Billion BIPAC 7800N modem router. The devices in the network include 2 PCs - one connected by ethernet cable to the router, and the other (usually) by Wi-Fi. Until now, I have used the router's DHCP server to allocate IP addresses, but am now allocating static IP addresses to each device.

I have set the gateway's (and the DNS server's) IP address to 192.168.1.254, with Subnet mask 255.255.255.0. I have allocated the IP address 192.168.1.1 to the ethernet card of the first PC, and IP addresses 192.168.1.2 and 192.168.1.3 to the ethernet card and wireless card of the second PC (with the same subnet mask as the router).

Connecting the second PC using the ethernet connection gives no problems.

Connecting the second PC using the wireless card prevents either PC "seeing" the other, but both PCs can access the internet.

Can anyone advise what I need to do to enable the same full network connection with using the wifi card on the second PC, as I have when using the ethernet card?

Discussion is locked
You are posting a reply to: 2 PCs in network unable to "see" each other
The posting of advertisements, profanity, or personal attacks is prohibited. Please refer to our CNET Forums policies for details. All submitted content is subject to our Terms of Use.
Track this discussion and email me when there are updates

If you're asking for technical help, please be sure to include all your system info, including operating system, model number, and any other specifics related to the problem. Also please exercise your best judgment when posting in the forums--revealing personal information such as your e-mail address, telephone number, and address is not recommended.