Networking & Wireless forum

General discussion

16-bit wireless card on old laptop

I have an old laptop (Thinkpad 380d) running Damn Small Linux. Everything works fine, Ethernet 10/100 card, etc.
My problem is, I have never used wireless before. I have a Dell Truemobile 1150 card (recognized as Intesil Orinoco). Drivers native and card active. Just don't know how to configure to access the internet. Will be stand alone, but will set up as network if necessary. Tried searching for general card setup, Linux, or OS specific. Either there was too much info I don't understand, or info too vague. Have stood in front of access point I am paying for, just not working. Can anyone point me to a site that will help, or supply said info. I would appreciate it. I can, and have, configured Winmodems, built more than one computer, and am not totally clueless, but at this point, wireless cards seem like rocket science. chuck

Discussion is locked
You are posting a reply to: 16-bit wireless card on old laptop
The posting of advertisements, profanity, or personal attacks is prohibited. Please refer to our CNET Forums policies for details. All submitted content is subject to our Terms of Use.
Track this discussion and email me when there are updates

If you're asking for technical help, please be sure to include all your system info, including operating system, model number, and any other specifics related to the problem. Also please exercise your best judgment when posting in the forums--revealing personal information such as your e-mail address, telephone number, and address is not recommended.

You are reporting the following post: 16-bit wireless card on old laptop
This post has been flagged and will be reviewed by our staff. Thank you for helping us maintain CNET's great community.
Sorry, there was a problem flagging this post. Please try again now or at a later time.