Office & Productivity Software forum

General discussion

13 point font size

by gsaylawyer / April 25, 2004 2:33 AM PDT

I am an appellate lawyer. After struggling for years with the problem of attorneys attempting, by use of smaller font sizes and proportionately spaced fonts, to "cheat" on page limits for briefs and motion papers, commencing about five years ago many courts began imposing minimum font size requirements. (Another way some courts deal with this is to require "word counts.") Most courts that have font size requirements specify, for proportionately spaced fonts, a minimum font size of 13 pts.

For better or worse, WORD has for several years (if not more) been by far the leadng word processing program in use at law firms. Perhaps this should not be the case, but it has consistently astonished me that at least through Office XP -- I have not yet checked Office 2003 -- Microsoft has NOT included a 13 pt option on the "format font" drop-down menu. Thus, if one wants or has to use 13 pt, one has to type the number 13 in the font size box. (I assume one could also create a "style" with a 13 pt font as the defaulit font. I have never figured out styles, and do not intend to start to now.)

I have been told by several individuals who ought to know that there is no way to add 13 pt to the font format list of pt size options. Is this true? And is Microsoft simply clueless?

Discussion is locked
You are posting a reply to: 13 point font size
The posting of advertisements, profanity, or personal attacks is prohibited. Please refer to our CNET Forums policies for details. All submitted content is subject to our Terms of Use.
Track this discussion and email me when there are updates