TVs & Home Theaters forum

General discussion

$1000 home theater

by sporter86 / April 4, 2008 7:26 AM PDT

I'm looking for a home theater (speakers and receiver only-have tv, dvd) for around $1000, preferably less.

I'm a college student in a studio apartment type setting. The room is about 15x15. Obviously I plan on keeping the system for a while even when I finish college (~2 years), so planning for a slightly larger room would be ideal. Although, my current setting is fairly crowded so floorstanding loudspeakers are definitely not possible.

Movies and television would be the primary use, some music, but not much. Cnet's suggestions appear to lead me toward the onkyo 908 system or the onkyo 990thx system. As I'm not quite as big on the video side, the lack of hdmi on the 990 system doesn't really bother me. I've seen this system for $700 including shipping at some authorized sites.

Anyways, suggestions please for a movie soundtrack-oriented sub $1000 system of receiver and speakers.

Thanks.

Discussion is locked
You are posting a reply to: $1000 home theater
The posting of advertisements, profanity, or personal attacks is prohibited. Please refer to our CNET Forums policies for details. All submitted content is subject to our Terms of Use.
Track this discussion and email me when there are updates

If you're asking for technical help, please be sure to include all your system info, including operating system, model number, and any other specifics related to the problem. Also please exercise your best judgment when posting in the forums--revealing personal information such as your e-mail address, telephone number, and address is not recommended.

You are reporting the following post: $1000 home theater
This post has been flagged and will be reviewed by our staff. Thank you for helping us maintain CNET's great community.
Sorry, there was a problem flagging this post. Please try again now or at a later time.