Early Prime Day Deals Roe v. Wade Overturned Surface Laptop Go 2 Review 4th of July Sales M2 MacBook Pro Deals Healthy Meal Delivery Best TVs for Every Budget Noise-Canceling Earbuds Dip to $100

'Star Wars' film saga finally to be released... digitally

Grab a galaxy far, far away for your digital devices thanks to a new official re-release of the special editions of the "Star Wars" six film saga, coming this month from Disney.

Which "Star Wars" movie are you most excited to download? Lucasfilm

Get ready to have Ewoks, Jedi, Sith Lords, Wookiees, droids and yes even Jar Jar Binks invade your mobile devices with a new re-release of the "Star Wars" six-movie saga coming out in Digital HD, thanks to Disney, Lucasfilm and 20th Century Fox.

Starting on April 10 through major retailers including PlayStation Store and Xbox Video, fans can download the entire "Star Wars: The Digital Movie Collection" -- the special editions of the original "Star Wars" trilogy: "A New Hope," "The Empire Strikes Back" and "Return of the Jedi" as well as the "Star Wars" prequels: "The Phantom Menace," "Attack of the Clones" and "Revenge of the Sith" -- in Digital HD.

Fans cans also download just the films they want individually instead of the entire collection.

Each movie comes with bonus features, which include various documentaries and interviews with both filmmaker George Lucas and the special-effects wizards at Industrial Light & Magic (though some digital bonus offerings may vary by retailer). See below for the specific added content for each film.

"These films broke new ground in technology, design, sound, and visual effects, and we've created some very special bonus material which delves into the saga's rich history, including new and never-before-released conversations between legendary 'Star Wars' artists -- the masters who helped George bring his iconic universe to life," Lucasfilm President Kathleen Kennedy said in Monday's announcement on StarWars.com.

Sadly, this means that fans hoping for a HD release of the untouched original theatrical release of "A New Hope," "The Empire Strikes Back" and "Return of the Jedi" will be disappointed once more. And there's no mention of an HD release of the infamous " Star Wars Holiday Special" either.

Pricing wasn't revealed in the statement, but the entire bundle is currently available for preorder at Google Play store and on Amazon.

Download this digital "Star Wars" saga, you will. Lucasfilm


STAR WARS EPISODE I: The Phantom Menace:

Conversations: Doug Chiang Looks Back

Discoveries From Inside: Models & Miniatures

Legacy content includes "The Beginning"; The Podrace: Theatrical Edit;plus eight deleted scenes.

STAR WARS EPISODE II: Attack of the Clones:

Conversations: Sounds In Space

Discoveries From Inside: Costumes Revealed

Legacy content includes "From Puppets To Pixels: Digital Characters In Episode II"; State Of The Art: The Previsualization Of Episode II; and "Films Are Not Released, They Escape"; plus Episode II Visual Effects Breakdown Montage and six deleted scenes.

STAR WARS EPISODE III: Revenge of the Sith:

Conversations: The Star Wars That Almost Was

Discoveries From Inside: Hologram & Bloopers

Legacy content includes documentaries "Within A Minute: The Making Of Episode III"; The Journey Part 1; and The Journey Part 2; plus six deleted scenes.


Conversations: Creating A Universe

Discoveries From Inside: Weapons & The First Lightsaber

Legacy content includes "Anatomy Of A Dewback"; Star Wars Launch Trailer; plus eight deleted scenes.

STAR WARS EPISODE V: The Empire Strikes Back:

Conversations: The Lost Interviews

Discoveries From Inside: Matte Paintings Unveiled

Legacy content includes "A Conversation With The Masters" (2010); "Dennis Muren: How Walkers Walk"; "George Lucas On Editing The Empire Strikes Back 1979"; and "George Lucas On The Force: 2010"; plus six deleted scenes.

STAR WARS EPISODE VI: Return of the Jedi:

Conversations: The Effects

Discoveries From Inside: The Sounds Of Ben Burtt

Legacy content includes "Classic Creatures: Return Of The Jedi"; "Revenge Of The Jedi Teaser Trailer"; Return Of The Jedi Launch Trailer; "It Began TV Spot"; "Climactic Chapter TV Spot"; plus five deleted scenes.