Want CNET to notify you of price drops and the latest stories?

World Cup 2022 Draw: USA Gets the Most Dramatic Group Possible

The USMNT is in for a wild ride at the World Cup this year.

Mark Serrels Editorial Director
Mark Serrels is an award-winning Senior Editorial Director focused on all things culture. He covers TV, movies, anime, video games and whatever weird things are happening on the internet. He especially likes to write about the hardships of being a parent in the age of memes, Minecraft and Fortnite. Definitely don't follow him on Twitter.
Mark Serrels

Germany legend Lothar Matthäus drawing the USA in the World Cup draw.

Matthew Ashton/AMA/Getty Images

The draw for the 2022 World Cup in Qatar has just been made and, folks, I think the USA just got the most dramatic group possible.

The US men's national team, which is about as stacked as an American soccer team has ever been in terms of pure talent, just got drawn with England and Iran, setting up two incredibly high-stakes grudge matches. 

The chaser: Depending on who wins an upcoming set of playoffs, the USA will also face either Scotland, Wales or Ukraine.

Just a wild set of group matches. Wild.

Elsewhere there's some incredible drama to be had. Spain and Germany are in the same group alongside Japan. Seems almost unfair that one of those teams will be knocked out in the group stage. Canada also got a very decent draw for its first World Cup appearance in eons. They'll face off against Belgium, Croatia and Morocco. Belgium and Croatia have both been among the best sides in Europe over the past decade, but both have ageing squads, which could make this a bit more competitive.

Here's the draw in full!

Group A

  • Qatar
  • Netherlands
  • Senegal
  • Ecuador

Group B

  • England
  • United States
  • Iran
  • Wales or Scotland or Ukraine

Group C

  • Argentina
  • Mexico
  • Poland
  • Saudi Arabia

Group D

  • France
  • Denmark
  • Tunisia
  • UAE or Australia or Peru

Group E

  • Spain
  • Germany
  • Japan
  • Costa Rica or New Zealand

Group F

  • Belgium
  • Croatia
  • Morocco
  • Canada

Group G 

  • Brazil
  • Switzerland
  • Serbia
  • Cameroon

Group H 

  • Portugal
  • Uruguay 
  • South Korea
  • Ghana