Disney Plus doubles down on Marvel movies

From just eight movies to 16, we'll now also get Iron Man 2, every Captain America movie, Thor, Avengers, Guardians 2, Doctor Strange and a new series called Expanding the Universe on Disney Plus launch.

Corinne Reichert Senior Editor
Corinne Reichert (she/her) grew up in Sydney, Australia and moved to California in 2019. She holds degrees in law and communications, and currently writes news, analysis and features for CNET across the topics of electric vehicles, broadband networks, mobile devices, big tech, artificial intelligence, home technology and entertainment. In her spare time, she watches soccer games and F1 races, and goes to Disneyland as often as possible.
Expertise News, mobile, broadband, 5G, home tech, streaming services, entertainment, AI, policy, business, politics Credentials
  • I've been covering technology and mobile for 12 years, first as a telecommunications reporter and assistant editor at ZDNet in Australia, then as CNET's West Coast head of breaking news, and now in the Thought Leadership team.
Corinne Reichert
2 min read

Sixteen MCU movies will now be on Disney Plus at launch.


When  Disney  last month revealed what it will and won't have when it launches its streaming service Disney Plus  in November, it became apparent that there were quite a few Marvel Cinematic Universe (MCU) titles missing. But after a new video released Sunday on Marvel's YouTube channel seemingly cemented the underwhelming Marvel cinematic lineup, Disney Plus announced several more movies by Monday afternoon.

Disney Plus tweeted out what seemed like a never-ending list of launch titles back in mid-October, but said it would only have Iron ManIron Man 3Thor: The Dark WorldAvengers: Age of UltronGuardians of the GalaxyAnt-Man and Captain Marvel on Nov. 12. Almost a month after these announcements, Disney Plus then announced moving up Avengers: Endgame to be available to stream at launch, tweeting the news on Nov. 6 alongside a video of people's complaints at the delay in Endgame being available.

On Nov. 11, with less than one day to go before the launch of the streaming service, Disney added eight more MCU movies. We'll now also be getting Iron Man 2Captain America: The First AvengerThorThe AvengersCaptain America: The Winter SoldierCaptain America: Civil WarGuardians of the Galaxy Volume 2, Doctor Strange and a new series called Expanding the Universe on launch day.

"From Iron Man to Endgame, see the newly announced @MarvelStudios titles that will be available to stream starting tomorrow on #DisneyPlus -- including Expanding the Universe, a new look at the original series coming to the service," Disney Plus tweeted Monday. "Look out for more titles to be announced soon."

Beyond the MCU movies, animated series including X-Men: Evolution from 2000, Wolverine and the X-Men from 2009, Guardians of the Galaxy from 2015 and Marvel Rising: Secret Warriors from 2018 will also be on the platform. Then there's Marvel Studios: Assembling a Universe from 2014, and the new Marvel's Hero Project

While we expect all MCU movies to hit the service eventually, there'll also be the MCU content being developed exclusively for Disney Plus:

Originally published Oct. 15.
Updated on Nov. 6 at 11:36 a.m. PT: Adds Endgame release moving up to Disney Plus launch date; Nov. 10 at 7:45 p.m.: Adds Marvel YouTube video; Nov. 11 at 12:52 p.m.: Adds eight new movies plus Expanding the Universe.

How to watch every Marvel Cinematic Universe film in the right order

See all photos