CNET también está disponible en español.

Ir a español

Don't show this again

Internet

Manchester United vs. Everton to kick off live on Facebook

England captain Wayne Rooney's testimonial game will be shown live from Old Trafford to Facebook users around the globe.

Wayne Rooney celebrates after scoring once again for Manchester United.

Nils Petter Nilsson/Ombrello/Getty Images

Facebook is kicking off its first ever live football match. The social network will show today's charity friendly soccer match between Manchester United and Everton, held in celebration of United and England striker Wayne Rooney.

Rooney's current team Manchester United will face Everton, his first club, at United's Old Trafford ground. It's the first home game for new United manager Jose Mourinho, and is expected to be an early chance to see new United signings Henrikh Mkhitaryan, Eric Bailly and Zlatan Ibrahimovic in action.

The game kicks off at 8 p.m. UK time -- that's 12 noon PT, 3 p.m. ET or 5 a.m. tomorrow AEST. You can watch at either Rooney's Facebook page or Manchester United's Facebook page.

Proceeds from the testimonial game will go to Rooney's chosen charities: Alder Hey Children's Hospital, Claire House children's hospice, the NSPCC and the Manchester United Foundation.

The 30-year-old has been at Manchester United for 12 years, scoring 245 goals in 520 competitive appearances and winning five Premier League titles, the UEFA Champions League and FIFA Club World Cup.

Now Playing: Watch this: How to win at robot football
5:03