CNET también está disponible en español.

Ir a español

Don't show this again

Christmas Gift Guide
Video Games

Gears of War 4 trailer showcases new multiplayer modes

DJ Shadow and Run The Jewels provide soundtrack for action-packed new gameplay video.

Microsoft has revealed a new gameplay trailer for Gears of War 4's multiplayer and detailed some of the announcements it will be making at PAX East in Boston this weekend. The trailer, which you can watch below, showcases the game's brutal weapons and new abilities, as well as a few maps.

Additionally, a number gameplay modes are also highlighted. Dodgeball is described as "the ultimate Gears clutch mode," Co-op Versus lets players take on AI, and Escalation intensifies action by placing power weapons on the map. Five other fan favourite modes -- Team Deathmatch, King of the Hill, Guardian, Warzone and Execution -- are also briefly shown.

Best of all, the action is set to DJ Shadow's Nobody Speak, which features Killer Mike and El-P, also known as Run The Jewels.

Gears of War 4 developer The Coalition plans to reveal the Escalation mode more fully on April 22 at 11 a.m. EDT/8 a.m. PT on Twitch. During the event it will show off gameplay and digital weapon skins, and also give away rare items.

Those at PAX East can attend the Out of the Shadows: Inside Gears of War Multiplayer with The Coalition panel on April 24 at 10:30 a.m. EDT/7:30 a.m. PT at the Albatross Theater.

Gears of War 4 launches on October 11 for Xbox One. The game's multiplayer beta is currently underway for people who played Gears of War Ultimate Edition before April 11. The Gears of War 4 open beta will be available to all Xbox Live Gold members from April 25 and run through May 1.

For lots more on the Gears of War 4 beta, check out this post to find out how to get in.