How to delete your Skype message history

Learn how to clean out your message history, as well as schedule a time for future messages to be deleted.

Skype

Skype lets you pick between text, voice or even video to communicate. When using the text option, your message history is saved to the client forever, by default. This means that every single message you've sent to someone is being stored on your computer -- until you take action to delete it.

If your computer is only accessed by you, then the message history may not be an issue. However, if you are sharing a computer, or you're just worried that private data could fall into the wrong hands, then check out these quick steps to delete all of your history and set a deletion schedule for future messages.

Screenshot by Nicole Cozma/CNET

Step 1: Open the main Skype window, then click on Tools in the menu bar and select Options.

Screenshot by Nicole Cozma/CNET

Step 2: Click on IM & SMS in left-hand menu. In the area that loads, click Show Advanced Settings near the bottom right-hand corner.

Screenshot by Nicole Cozma/CNET

Step 3: Next to the "Keep history for" line, there is a button to Clear History, click this.

Since you're in this menu, it might also be a good idea to change the amount of time that history is saved from the drop-down menu.

Now all of your message history will be cleared, and you have future messages taken care of, as well.

Do you save chat history in your IM clients? Why or why not? Let us know in the comments.

 

Join the discussion

Conversation powered by Livefyre

Don't Miss
Hot Products
Trending on CNET

HOT ON CNET

Need a digital detox?

Not everything has to be shared on the Internet. Our experts at The Fix help you take control of what you share online.