Sony announces trio of prime lenses, only tells Europe

Sony announced three new lenses today.

DT 85mm f1.8 lens Sony

I received a brief e-mail tonight, July 26 at 2 a.m. ET from my contacts at Sony: "On Tuesday, July 27 at 12:00 p.m. BST (British Standard Time)/4:00 a.m. PDT Sony Europe will announce three new lenses to be introduced in the fall of 2010. Although these models will also be introduced in the U.S. market, no announcement is being made at this time. The U.S. announcement will be made at a time that is closer to the models' market introduction. We apologize for the short notice, but wanted you to be aware of this announcement in Europe."

Now, usually companies can almost justify the separate announcements because pricing and availability information hasn't been set here. But this time, it hasn't been set for Europe, either. Tell me in what bizarro universe any of this makes sense.

Oh yeah--the lenses are all fast primes: a Zeiss 24mm f2 (first shown at PMA), 85 mm f2.8, and DT 35mm f1.8. The latter is pretty shallow for an APS-C-designed lens.

(via Quesabesde, which obviously published early.)

Featured Video
This content is rated TV-MA, and is for viewers 18 years or older. Are you of age?
Sorry, you are not old enough to view this content.

Roku 4: Our favorite TV streaming system gets 4K video and a remote locator

Ever lose your remote in the couch cushions? Ever wish you could stream 4K Netflix without having to use your TV's built-in app? Roku's new high-end player, the $129 Roku 4, brings these new extras to its best-in-class streaming ecosystem.

by David Katzmaier