Reporters' Roundtable 100 is coming up on 11/11/11

Rafe Needleman couldn't have planned this better unless he actually planned it. Coming up: 11 predictions for the next 11 years. Or maybe months. With Tom Merritt.

I'll bet you didn't know when I launched the Reporters' Roundtable podcast in 2009 that I secretly planned for episode 100 to air on 11/11/11, the Nerd New Year.

OK, I just got lucky. Although I do have to point out that the topic of Roundtable Episode 1 was Steve Jobs' 9/9/09 return to the public eye as he announced several updates to Apple products.

Yes, we are all geeks here. Numbers are important to us. So for Episode 100 (important milestone!) of a tech podcast airing on 11/11/11 (just plain cool), the only thing I could see doing with this show was make some wild predictions. Eleven predictions, for the next 11 years. Or maybe 11 months. That way, you'll be able to come back and check our work.

I'm bringing an old collaborator on to the show to do this with me: Tom Merritt, former co-host of CNET's Buzz Out Loud and now the anchor of Tech News Today. We'll be going live at 10:11 a.m. Pacific Time or so. I thought about doing this at 11:11 a.m., but I can only take this numerology mumbo-jumbo so far.

If you've got a prediction you'd like us to consider for this show, e-mail me or leave it in comments. And, of course, join us for the show. Again, that's 11/11/11 at 10:11 a.m. Pacific Time, 11:11 a.m. Mountain(!), 1:11 p.m. Eastern, etc. The show will air live on CNET TV.

Featured Video

Why do so many of us still buy cars with off-road abilities?

Cities are full of cars like the Subaru XV that can drive off-road but will never see any challenging terrain. What drives us to buy cars with these abilities when we don't really need them most of the time?

by Drew Stearne