Nokia teases global event for Thursday

The company promises an "exciting global announcement" on Thursday, which people can watch online.

Nokia is promising to add some color to your week.
This sparse image accompanies Nokia's notice of Thursday's event. Screenshot by Lance Whitney/CNET

Nokia has something "colorful" up its sleeve for Thursday, though the company is mum on the details.

The Finnish phone maker said Wednesday that an event is taking place in New Delhi, India, and teased it by asking if you're "ready to add some color to your week?"

A live global Webcast of the event will kick off at noon local time in New Delhi, 9:30 a.m. in Helsinki, and 7:30 a.m. in London. Nokia didn't specifically list the U.S., but the overseas times would put the Webcast at 11:30 p.m. PT Wednesday. The Webcast will be hosted on Nokia's Conversations page.

Nokia has already scheduled a Lumia event for May 14 in London in which it will unveil its next entry in the growing lineup. The company has also been beefing up its Asha product line with budget-friendly phones geared for many countries, though not for the U.S.

Thus, a Lumia event seems unlikely for Thursday, leaving Asha as a possibility.

About the author

Journalist, software trainer, and Web developer Lance Whitney writes columns and reviews for CNET, Computer Shopper, Microsoft TechNet, and other technology sites. His first book, "Windows 8 Five Minutes at a Time," was published by Wiley & Sons in November 2012.

 

Join the discussion

Conversation powered by Livefyre

Show Comments Hide Comments
Latest Galleries from CNET
Catwalk contraptions: High-tech couture of 2014 (pictures)
The most anticipated games of 2015
Tech industry's high-flying 2014
Uber's tumultuous ups and downs in 2014 (pictures)
The best and worst quotes of 2014 (pictures)
A roomy range from LG (pictures)