Join CNET's Windows 8 launch coverage on Thursday (live blog)

Microsoft and CEO Steve Ballmer will formally launch the OS and maybe talk a little about the Surface tablet, too. We'll be bringing you live coverage of the event.

Live coverage of Microsoft's Windows 8 event

After months of anticipation, preview builds, and hype, Microsoft will formally launch its next-generation operating system, Windows 8, at an event in New York on Thursday.

Windows 8 represents a wholesale change in the user experience, relying on live tiles and a more touch-friendly interface than previous iterations. It's unclear whether consumers will embrace the dramatic changes or shun the software, relying instead on Apple's OS X or the older Windows 7.

What's more clear is that Microsoft has a lot riding on the success of this operating system, with its still-dominant position in technology potentially at stake. Windows 8 shares a lot of traits with its more tablet-friendly brother, Windows RT, and the smartphone version, Windows Phone 8. Its success or failure will have a big impact on the role its design plays in gadgets to come.

Microsoft has the support of its partners and is ready with a wave of Windows 8 laptops and tablets ready to hit the market. The company will likely show off its Surface tablet a bit more at the event as well.

Check back in with us Thursday at 7:45 a.m. PT / 10:45 a.m. ET as we kick off the live blog. The event itself starts at 8:15 a.m. PT / 11:15 a.m. ET.

Editors' note: The original version of this story was posted October 24 at 9:49 a.m. PT. Note that the start time of the live blog has been changed to reflect updated information from Microsoft.

 

Join the discussion

Conversation powered by Livefyre

Don't Miss
Hot Products
Trending on CNET

HOT ON CNET

Want affordable gadgets for your student?

Everyday finds that will make students' lives easier: chargers, cables, headphones, and even a bona fide gadget or two!