Huawei readies Ascend P2 for MWC arrival

A follow-up to the globally-released P1, the Huawei Ascend P2 is expected to be a higher-end Android smartphone.

Huawei preps its Ascend P2 at its MWC booth.
Look closely and you'll see that although Huawei's trade show crew hasn't set up any devices, there's space for the Ascend P2. Stephen Shankland/CNET

BARCELONA, Spain--Huawei's booth crew may not have attached any phones to mounts over at its booth at Mobile World Congress, but it's clear that the Huawei Ascend P2 will officially debut at this show.

The successor to the Huawei Ascend P1 Android phone, the P2 is expected to run Android 4.1 Jelly Bean and shoot for the high end with specs that include a 1.8GHz quad-core processor, a 13-megapixel camera and a 3,000mAh battery.

Rumors also point to a 1.3-megapixel front-facing camera, 2GB RAM, and 8GB internal storage, though perhaps without expandable memory.

We'll know for certain tomorrow at Huawei's press conference, which begins at 2pm CET (8am ET/5am PT,) where CNET will blog the events live.

Huawei preps its Ascend P2 at its MWC booth.
Huawei preps its MWC booth for the arrival of the Ascend P2. Stephen Shankland/CNET
Featured Video
6
This content is rated TV-MA, and is for viewers 18 years or older. Are you of age?
Sorry, you are not old enough to view this content.

New Google OnHub router is one of a kind

Reviewing the search giant's sleek and super-cool OnHub home router (while totally and completely trusting Google with personal info).

by Dong Ngo