'Guitar Hero World Tour' coming out this fall

Next version includes new instruments, software, and online competition.

Gentlemen, start your Gibsons: The Guitar Hero World Tour is about to begin.

The next version of Activision's hit title promises to take the shredding experience to the next level with "a cooperative band experience that combines the most advanced wireless instruments with revolutionary new online and offline gameplay modes," according to the company. Among the new elements will be a new guitar controller, virtual drums, and microphone, as well as master recordings from Van Halen, the Eagles, Linkin Park, and other artists. The selection can be expanded further with downloads through its "Music Studio," which will also allow players to compose and customize their own tunes, and its "Battle of the Bands" allows up to eight people to compete online at the same time.

The new title will be available on Microsoft's Xbox 360, Nintendo's Wii, and Sony's PlayStation 2 and 3. It won't be out until the fall, so you've got a few months to soundproof the walls--or, if you have teenage kids, to move them into the garage.

Featured Video
This content is rated TV-MA, and is for viewers 18 years or older. Are you of age?
Sorry, you are not old enough to view this content.

Metal Gear Solid V gets a perfect 10

Jeff Bakalar talks with GameSpot's Peter Brown about his perfect 10 review score of Metal Gear Solid V: The Phantom Pain.

by Jeff Bakalar