Free open source legal training webinar - sign up here

Announcing a free open-source legal training seminar.

A week or so ago Alfresco had Jason Haislmaier present to our sales team on legal/licensing issues in open source. I wanted my team to have a better understanding of potential customer concerns and how open source "copyleft" differs from traditional copyright. Jason is not Alfresco's counsel, but two of us had a friendship connection to him and so he graciously agreed to do the session...and he didn't even bill us in six-minute increments! :-) Jason is a partner with Holme Roberts & Owen LLP and a leading open-source legal practitioner.

The session was excellent and very well-received. I asked Jason if he would be willing to do it for a larger audience (you), and he accepted.

Here are the details:

What: 1-hour session covering open-source legal issues (e.g., What counts as software distribution? Implications of GPLv3? etc.)
When: August 29, 2007. 11:00 AM Eastern Time (8:00 PDT / 16:00 GMT)
How: Please register at https://www.gotomeeting.com/register/827387528.
Cost: Free, as in open source. :-)

This is a great chance to talk with one of the leading minds on open source law. No cost and no obligation. Just a useful knowledge share. You don't have to be an attorney - this is for those of novice to intermediate-level understanding of open-source legal issues.

Come with questions!

Featured Video
6
This content is rated TV-MA, and is for viewers 18 years or older. Are you of age?
Sorry, you are not old enough to view this content.

Everything you can expect at Apple's Sept. 9th event

Apple is expected to throw the kitchen sink at us with new iPhones, iPads, a new Apple TV and MacBooks. We'll breakdown what you can expect to see.

by Brian Tong