E3 2007 preview

Crave dishes on what to expect from the 2007 E3 show.

In years past, E3--the Electronic Entertainment Expo--involved as many as 50,000 members of the video game industry descending on the Los Angeles Convention Center in early May. This year, the show--now dubbed the "E3 Media & Business Summit"--has been radically downsized, rescheduled to July, and moved out to Santa Monica.

With all of the gaming consoles now effectively old news, the show doesn't quite have the air of anticipation as it did the last few years, when gamers were scrambling to get a glimpse of the then-unreleased Xbox 360, PlayStation 3, and Nintendo Wii. Still, the show promises to hold a surprise or two, and the keynote press conferences from the Big Three are always where the biggest news hits. Microsoft kicks things off tonight at 11:30 p.m. ET/8:30 p.m. PT. Tomorrow, it's Nintendo (Wednesday, July 11, noon ET/9 a.m. PT), followed immediately by Sony (2:30 p.m. ET/11:30 a.m. PT).

We'll have complete coverage of each event, as well as all of the news from third-party developers later in the week. In the meantime, here's a roundup of the preshow action:




About the author

John P. Falcone is the executive editor of CNET Reviews, where he coordinates a group of more than 20 editors and writers based in New York and San Francisco as they cover the latest and greatest products in consumer technology. He's been a CNET editor since 2003.

 

Join the discussion

Conversation powered by Livefyre

Show Comments Hide Comments
Latest Galleries from CNET
Tech industry's high-flying 2014
Uber's tumultuous ups and downs in 2014 (pictures)
The best and worst quotes of 2014 (pictures)
A roomy range from LG (pictures)
This plain GE range has all of the essentials (pictures)
Sony's 'Interview' heard 'round the world (pictures)