Amazon needs more than 3D to sell a smartphone

The retail giant will likely launch a sensor-packed smartphone on June 18. And while Amazon teases new technology, Barnes & Noble gives up on the Nook tablet as we know it.

This content is rated TV-MA, and is for viewers 18 years or older. Are you of age?
Sorry, you are not old enough to view this content.

Amazon, you don't have to play coy with us. We know your teaser video is about a smartphone with some sort of 3D effect. Today's CNET Update goes over the rumors about Amazon's phone and what else the retailer may need to do to win over customers. Amazon will reveal all on June 18, and anyone can apply to attend the news event.

Amazon will show off a new gadget, but Barnes & Noble is backing away from technology. The retailer will no longer make Nook color tablets. Instead, Samsung will make Nook spin-offs of the Galaxy Tab. The Galaxy Tab 4 Nook is a 7-inch Samsung tablet with Nook software, and will come out in August.

But before we see the new Nook or an Amazon phone, all the focus will be on the annual E3 video game expo in Los Angeles. Microsoft will be the first with news on Monday morning at 9:30 a.m. PT, 12:30 ET. Sony follows later in the day with a press conference at 6 p.m. PT, 9 p.m ET.

CNET Update delivers the tech news you need in under three minutes. Watch Bridget Carey every afternoon for a breakdown of the big stories, hot devices, new apps, and what's ahead. Subscribe to the podcast via the links below.

Subscribe:

iTunes (HD) | iTunes (SD) | iTunes (HQ)

RSS (HD) | RSS (SD) | RSS (HQ)| RSS (MP3)

Download the audio version of today's episode:

Amazon needs more than 3D to sell a smartphone


 

Join the discussion

Conversation powered by Livefyre

Don't Miss
Hot Products
Trending on CNET

HOT ON CNET

Delete your photos by mistake?

Whether you've deleted everything on your memory card or there's been a data corruption, here's a way to recover those photos.