Remove location data before you share photos with deGeo

iPhone app deGeo removes geotags to help protect your privacy when sharing photos.

You may be sharing more information than you may know when sharing an interesting or adorable photo on your preferred social network. If you have location services enabled for the camera app on your iPhone, then each photo you snap contains geotag data that shows where it was taken. With 99 cent deGeo, you can easily remove this location information before sharing photos online.

Screenshot by Matt Elliott/CNET

When you launch deGeo for the first time, it will ask for permission to access your photos before providing a quick tutorial about what it does and which gestures it supports. Briefly, you can swipe up on a photo to return to your photo library to select a new photo (or just tap the Choose an Image button), swipe down to share (or just tap the Share button), and swipe left to view geotag data on a map. If a photo does not have any geotag data, you'll see a map with no pin marking the spot where the photo was taken.

Screenshot by Matt Elliott/CNET

Swiping right on a photo reveals a largely useless menu. Of its four buttons, only the top one is of any use; it loads the last photo you took. You can also load your most recent photo by shaking your phone.

Lastly, you can tap on a photo to view it in full screen. To get out of this mode, swipe in any direction.

DeGeo was recently updated, and now lets you select up to eight photos, which you can strip of location data before sharing on social networks which allow you to share multiple photos at once.

DeGeo lets you share to social networks including Dropbox, Evernote, Flickr, Facebook, Google+, Instagram, Sina Weibo, Twitter, and Tumblr. You can also send photos from the via e-mail and text, and you can save a geotag-less photo to your iPhone's camera roll.

Alternatively, you can skip deGeo and disable location services for your iPhone's camera app, which keeps your photos free of geotags in the first place. (You may find this information useful or interesting for photos you don't intend to share.) To disable location services for the camera app, go to Settings > Privacy > Location Services and turn off the toggle switch for the camera app.

 

Join the discussion

Conversation powered by Livefyre

Don't Miss
Hot Products
Trending on CNET

HOT ON CNET

Mac running slow?

Boost your computer with these five useful tips that will clean up the clutter.