How to securely erase a BlackBerry 10 device

Securing your data when selling or returning a device is a must. Here's how to ensure your data is wiped from a BlackBerry 10 device.

Jason Cipriani/CNET

Let's face it: BlackBerry 10 isn't going to be for everyone . There are going to be people who have purchased a Z10 only to find out it's not the device for them, and some people might find that they prefer the Q10, which launches soon.

As such, you're going to want to securely wipe all of your information from the device. With just a few taps you'll be able to secure your data, ensuring it doesn't end up in the wrong hands.

  • Before wiping your device, it's a good idea to use BlackBerry Link to back it up. Erasing your device is permanent, and should you need information from the device at a later time, you're going to be thankful you made the backup.
  • Have a backup, right? Alright, then go ahead and launch the Settings app and tap on the "Security and Privacy" option.
  • Toward the bottom of the screen you'll find "Security Wipe"; tap on it.
Screenshot by Jason Cipriani/CNET
  • You'll need to type "blackberry" into the text field at the bottom before proceeding. This is BlackBerry's way of keeping you from accidentally wiping your device. After entering the keyword and tapping on the Delete Data button, your device will begin resetting itself to its factory state.

The time it takes to wipe the device varies depending on the amount of data stored. When I wiped my Z10 -- which had 6GB of data on it -- for this post, it took more than 30 minutes.

 

Join the discussion

Conversation powered by Livefyre

Don't Miss
Hot Products
Trending on CNET

HOT ON CNET

Looking for an affordable tablet?

CNET rounds up high-quality tablets that won't break your wallet.