How to revoke Facebook app permissions

If you've been on Facebook for a while, odds are good that you've tried and abandoned quite a few apps. It's a good idea to clear them out now and then, on the off chance that one goes rogue and does something nasty. Here's how.

Facebook apps can be useful and fun, but they also have permission to do all sorts of things with your info.

For the apps you use regularly and trust, that's not a big problem, but if you've got a lot of apps that you tried once and then stopped using or forgot about, that could turn into a problem one day. Fortunately, it's fairly simple to revoke permissions of individual apps. Here's what to do:

  1. Log on to Facebook.
  2. Click the drop-down arrow next to Home in the upper right, then select "Account Settings."
  3. Step 2: Account Settings.
    Step 2: Account Settings.
  4. Select "Apps" on the left sidebar.
  5. Scan the list and click the "x" on the right of any app you want to clear. Its permissions will be revoked and you won't see it anymore (unless you decide to give it another go one day).
  6. Step 4: Revoke permissions.
    Step 4: Revoke permissions.

That's it! If you've got a lot of apps, this process can take some time, but it's a good idea to clear the brush every now and then to ensure your privacy is as secure as it can be.

About the author

    Rob Lightner is a tech and gaming writer based in Seattle. He has reviewed games, gadgets, and technical manuals, written copy for space travel gear, and composed horoscopes for cats.

     

    Join the discussion

    Conversation powered by Livefyre

    Show Comments Hide Comments