How to delete your Skype message history

Learn how to clean out your message history, as well as schedule a time for future messages to be deleted.


Skype lets you pick between text, voice or even video to communicate. When using the text option, your message history is saved to the client forever, by default. This means that every single message you've sent to someone is being stored on your computer -- until you take action to delete it.

If your computer is only accessed by you, then the message history may not be an issue. However, if you are sharing a computer, or you're just worried that private data could fall into the wrong hands, then check out these quick steps to delete all of your history and set a deletion schedule for future messages.

Screenshot by Nicole Cozma/CNET

Step 1: Open the main Skype window, then click on Tools in the menu bar and select Options.

Screenshot by Nicole Cozma/CNET

Step 2: Click on IM & SMS in left-hand menu. In the area that loads, click Show Advanced Settings near the bottom right-hand corner.

Screenshot by Nicole Cozma/CNET

Step 3: Next to the "Keep history for" line, there is a button to Clear History, click this.

Since you're in this menu, it might also be a good idea to change the amount of time that history is saved from the drop-down menu.

Now all of your message history will be cleared, and you have future messages taken care of, as well.

Do you save chat history in your IM clients? Why or why not? Let us know in the comments.

Featured Video
This content is rated TV-MA, and is for viewers 18 years or older. Are you of age?
Sorry, you are not old enough to view this content.

How to set up the new Google Chromecast

Bought a new Chromecast? CNET's Dan Graziano shows you how to get started.

by Dan Graziano