How to delete your Google+ account

Google+ is estimated to have hit 20 million users in just three weeks. If you've tried it but just aren't impressed, we'll show you how to delete your Google+ content without affecting your other Google services.

Google+

Google+ is estimated to have hit 20 million users in just three weeks. If you've happily migrated over to your Google+ account and want to delete your Facebook account, Dennis O'Reilly goes over how to deactivate or delete accounts (no, they're not the same).

If, on the other hand, you've tried Google+ and just aren't impressed, we'll show you how to delete your Google+ content without affecting your other Google services. Don't worry; it seems Google has learned its lesson from the Google Buzz fiasco by making it simpler to remove Google+ from your digital life. Here's how:

Step 1: From Google+, click on the gear icon in the upper-right-hand corner, then click on Google+ settings.

Google+ settings
Screenshot by Ed Rhee

Step 2: Under the "Accounts overview" section, go to "Services" then click on the link next to Delete profile and social features.

Delete Google social features
Screenshot by Ed Rhee

Step 3: Click on the radio button next to Delete Google+ content and then check the box next to Required, then finally click on the Remove selected services button.

Delete Google+ content
Screenshot by Ed Rhee

You'll no longer have access to Google+ and all of your content will be removed "over the next few days." Most importantly, your Gmail, Google Docs, Google Calendar, and other Google services will remain untouched.

Featured Video

An easy way to fix a sluggish iPhone or iPad

iPhone or iPad running slow? Try this.

by Dan Graziano