Windows Legacy OS forum

General discussion

XP Randomly Restarts

by Rustyjake / January 22, 2005 8:50 AM PST

Hi, I wouldn't say i'm a computer novice but nor would I say I?m an expert, I know enough to get though day to day stuff and a bit more. But lately my computer keeps restarting, like as if I go ?start ? turn off computer ? restart? now I have been told that it could be due to over heating hardware but I have never had the problem before, I have even run it without the case on with a window open to keep it cool, and it still restarted! I have an up to date virus checker (AVG 7 Pro) and that does not find any viruses, and I have done a virus check in safe mode, still no viruses.

Any ideas anyone? It?s is annoying me loads. please someone help!
Thx for your help
Rusty

Post a reply
Discussion is locked
You are posting a reply to: XP Randomly Restarts
The posting of advertisements, profanity, or personal attacks is prohibited. Please refer to our CNET Forums policies for details. All submitted content is subject to our Terms of Use.
Track this discussion and email me when there are updates

If you're asking for technical help, please be sure to include all your system info, including operating system, model number, and any other specifics related to the problem. Also please exercise your best judgment when posting in the forums--revealing personal information such as your e-mail address, telephone number, and address is not recommended.

You are reporting the following post: XP Randomly Restarts
This post has been flagged and will be reviewed by our staff. Thank you for helping us maintain CNET's great community.
Sorry, there was a problem flagging this post. Please try again now or at a later time.
If you believe this post is offensive or violates the CNET Forums' Usage policies, you can report it below (this will not automatically remove the post). Once reported, our moderators will be notified and the post will be reviewed.
Collapse -