Windows 8 forum

XP equivalent with Hyper-V?

by wpgwpg / January 26, 2013 6:33 AM PST

I am totally new to Hyper-V. I've been playing around with Windows 8 for about a year now, and have read where you can set up something like the XP Mode we had with Windows 7 in Windows 8 Pro, but I am really chasing my tail and getting nowhere.
I've downloaded the document from MS and managed to go to the Control Panel's Programs & Features and enable Hyper-V, listened to an hour long video at (which told me absolutely nothing about Hyper-V), started the Hyper-V Manager, looked through the Help text (which assumes you already have gotten started with this beast - I haven't), read about all the "helpful" XML commands you can use, tried to do things with the Powershell with no luck, browsed though this Windows 8 forum, but man oh man am I missing how to get started.
I guess I don't need to rant further about what I'm looking for with no success. Having gotten to the Hyper-V Manager so far, I really really could use a basic getting started document somewhere because I can't figure out what to do. XP Mode was a snap, but this Hyper-V documentation I've seen so far seems to've been lifted from the Server 2012 documentation without telling you how to get started.
Can some kind soul please tell me what I need to get Hyper-V to run something akin to XP mode? I have Windows 8 Pro running in 64 bit mode, but sure need some getting started help, and I have licensed XP install discs.

Answer This Ask For Clarification
Discussion is locked
You are posting a reply to: XP equivalent with Hyper-V?
The posting of advertisements, profanity, or personal attacks is prohibited. Please refer to our CNET Forums policies for details. All submitted content is subject to our Terms of Use.
Track this discussion and email me when there are updates