Computer Help forum

General discussion

by wheelwinner / March 19, 2008 4:38 AM PDT

Hi all ~ I was working on my HP computer the other night (about 3 yrs old). I use XP and Firefox browser. All of a sudden this official looking window popped up (XP ANTIVIRUS ONLINE SCANNER it said) and telling me I had a virus and trojan horse that Norton is unable to detect. It freaked me out since I had no idea if this was a real threat or just someone trying to sell me something. I've run Norton and Spybot with no problems (other than tracking cookies which I eliminated). Do I have big troubles or not? The computer seems to be working the same as always. If anyone can help me, please know that while I am not computer illiterate or a newbie, I am also not a techie and need simple instructions.

Discussion is locked
The posting of advertisements, profanity, or personal attacks is prohibited. Please refer to our CNET Forums policies for details. All submitted content is subject to our Terms of Use.
Track this discussion and email me when there are updates

If you're asking for technical help, please be sure to include all your system info, including operating system, model number, and any other specifics related to the problem. Also please exercise your best judgment when posting in the forums--revealing personal information such as your e-mail address, telephone number, and address is not recommended.

This post has been flagged and will be reviewed by our staff. Thank you for helping us maintain CNET's great community.
Sorry, there was a problem flagging this post. Please try again now or at a later time.
If you believe this post is offensive or violates the CNET Forums' Usage policies, you can report it below (this will not automatically remove the post). Once reported, our moderators will be notified and the post will be reviewed.
Collapse -
No worried
by chris_lampkin / March 19, 2008 4:53 AM PDT