Networking & Wireless forum

General discussion

Wireless network connection problems with HughesNet

by louielew / August 14, 2009 4:55 AM PDT

Having connection problems and need some help.... I am connecting wirelessly with my Dell D600 laptop (XP SP2) to a linksys WRT305N. I connect to the linksys, can see it, change settings etc. Others are accessing internet fine both on the LAN side and Wireless side of the linksys...... but I receive no packets. I get an IP by means of DHCP and everything seems great, but no internet.
I can take this same laptop down to a local hotspot and connect instantly without any problems.
I guess my question is is there something specific that I need for HughesNet to get to the net?? I have zero experience with HughesNet obviously.

WRT350N v1.03.2

Internet connection (from status screen of WRT350N)
IP: 192.168.02

when I run the ipconfig/all
my ip

Does HughesNet have their nameservers locked out??
idk.. I am at a loss...
Thanks for any help......

Post a reply
Discussion is locked
You are posting a reply to: Wireless network connection problems with HughesNet
The posting of advertisements, profanity, or personal attacks is prohibited. Please refer to our CNET Forums policies for details. All submitted content is subject to our Terms of Use.
Track this discussion and email me when there are updates

If you're asking for technical help, please be sure to include all your system info, including operating system, model number, and any other specifics related to the problem. Also please exercise your best judgment when posting in the forums--revealing personal information such as your e-mail address, telephone number, and address is not recommended.

You are reporting the following post: Wireless network connection problems with HughesNet
This post has been flagged and will be reviewed by our staff. Thank you for helping us maintain CNET's great community.