Networking & Wireless forum

Wireless Access Point Setup for Apartment Complex

by Dman86 / April 25, 2011 9:06 AM PDT

We are looking into setting up wireless internet access for the whole complex. I am trying to see the best options and ideas. Here are a few questions.

1) We would have around 200 users at max (accounting for people to have more than one device or computer connected. Such as Xbox360 and whatnot). What speeds should we consider from a ISP.?

2) Should we get more than one ISP feed?

3) How many wireless access points should we get? (Ruffly we are looking at 5-6)

4) Where should the WAP's be placed around the complex? Considering the apartments are brick outside and inside regular wood frame/drywall construction type. Also should they be inside or outdoor WAP's.

5)What hardware should be considered? (switches, WAP's, ect...)

Here is a layout of the complex

I know a bit about networking and computers, but I am no pro. I have never done a project this large. Any input or ideas would be great.

Answer This Ask For Clarification
Discussion is locked
You are posting a reply to: Wireless Access Point Setup for Apartment Complex
The posting of advertisements, profanity, or personal attacks is prohibited. Please refer to our CNET Forums policies for details. All submitted content is subject to our Terms of Use.
Track this discussion and email me when there are updates

If you're asking for technical help, please be sure to include all your system info, including operating system, model number, and any other specifics related to the problem. Also please exercise your best judgment when posting in the forums--revealing personal information such as your e-mail address, telephone number, and address is not recommended.

You are reporting the following post: Wireless Access Point Setup for Apartment Complex
This post has been flagged and will be reviewed by our staff. Thank you for helping us maintain CNET's great community.