Windows Vista forum

General discussion

Windows Media Player 11 and Codecs

by gra7ity / May 12, 2007 6:44 PM PDT

Hi, Im a bit of a novice at this, but I am trying to play some files in windows media player 11 and I am having trouble. This applies to both audio (some mp3 files) and video (some avi files).

I have downloaded the K-Lite codec pack and run Gspot to test the files. Gspot does not have a problem rendering and playing the files, however when I try to open them in windows media player 11 I get an error saying that I do not have the correct codecs installed.

Some advice on what to try next would be much appriciated

Post a reply
Discussion is locked
You are posting a reply to: Windows Media Player 11 and Codecs
The posting of advertisements, profanity, or personal attacks is prohibited. Please refer to our CNET Forums policies for details. All submitted content is subject to our Terms of Use.
Track this discussion and email me when there are updates

If you're asking for technical help, please be sure to include all your system info, including operating system, model number, and any other specifics related to the problem. Also please exercise your best judgment when posting in the forums--revealing personal information such as your e-mail address, telephone number, and address is not recommended.

You are reporting the following post: Windows Media Player 11 and Codecs
This post has been flagged and will be reviewed by our staff. Thank you for helping us maintain CNET's great community.
Sorry, there was a problem flagging this post. Please try again now or at a later time.
If you believe this post is offensive or violates the CNET Forums' Usage policies, you can report it below (this will not automatically remove the post). Once reported, our moderators will be notified and the post will be reviewed.
Collapse -
Almost enough information.
by R. Proffitt Forum moderator / May 13, 2007 1:55 AM PDT

Tell me which CODEC gspot detected and we'll hunt it down.