Windows 7 forum

General discussion

Windows 7 Ultimate 32 bit or 64 bit?

by DanielG1990 / November 18, 2009 7:41 PM PST

Hi guys,

I'm currently studying New Media and Communication Technology. I need to get Windows 7 Ultimate. Now my laptop when I bought it, had Vista Home Premium 32 bit. So my question to you is, do I upgrade to 32 bit or 64 bit? I work with alot of Adobe programs(Photoshop, Dreamweaver,...). I also do alot of multitasking. So I do need my computer to be fast. Under here you can see the specifications of my laptop. Sony Vaio VGN-FW11M

- Intel Core 2 Duo P8400 2.26 GHz
- Intel PM45
- 4096 MB, 2x 2048 DDR2 PC2-6400 Samsung (can be upgraded to 8 GB)
- ATI Mobility Radeon HD 3470 - 256 MB, Core: 680 MHz, Memory: 800 MHz, GDDR3

So I am even able to upgrade to 64 bit and would it be a good idea if I did?

Thanks in advance,

Discussion is locked
You are posting a reply to: Windows 7 Ultimate 32 bit or 64 bit?
The posting of advertisements, profanity, or personal attacks is prohibited. Please refer to our CNET Forums policies for details. All submitted content is subject to our Terms of Use.
Track this discussion and email me when there are updates

If you're asking for technical help, please be sure to include all your system info, including operating system, model number, and any other specifics related to the problem. Also please exercise your best judgment when posting in the forums--revealing personal information such as your e-mail address, telephone number, and address is not recommended.

You are reporting the following post: Windows 7 Ultimate 32 bit or 64 bit?
This post has been flagged and will be reviewed by our staff. Thank you for helping us maintain CNET's great community.
Sorry, there was a problem flagging this post. Please try again now or at a later time.