Computer Help forum

Wifi and LAN randomly disconnects?

by iamgrandma123 / August 27, 2012 2:37 PM PDT

I have a HP Pavilion dv6. Notebook PC.
I am NOT tech savvy at all, so please explain simply. Thanks!

I've had my laptop for about 7 months and starting 3 days ago, I've been having wifi problems. I would be on the internet, and then randomly, i get a message that says Wifi: Disconnected. And then I'm no longer able to use the internet. And then a few hours later, I would randomly get a message that says Wifi: connected. It's now happening more often that my wifi is disconnected and for a longer period of time. Now, I'm also getting the message that says LAN disconnected. Please helpp!!!

I'm freaking out if I have a virus or something because my brother has an HP laptop as well and he doesnt have any problems.

Answer This Ask For Clarification
Discussion is locked
You are posting a reply to: Wifi and LAN randomly disconnects?
The posting of advertisements, profanity, or personal attacks is prohibited. Please refer to our CNET Forums policies for details. All submitted content is subject to our Terms of Use.
Track this discussion and email me when there are updates

If you're asking for technical help, please be sure to include all your system info, including operating system, model number, and any other specifics related to the problem. Also please exercise your best judgment when posting in the forums--revealing personal information such as your e-mail address, telephone number, and address is not recommended.

You are reporting the following post: Wifi and LAN randomly disconnects?
This post has been flagged and will be reviewed by our staff. Thank you for helping us maintain CNET's great community.
Sorry, there was a problem flagging this post. Please try again now or at a later time.