Camcorders forum

General discussion

why do Canon HG20 videos play slow on my pc?

by juxtafras / October 17, 2008 1:28 PM PDT

i just bought the HG20 camcorder based on the cnet editor and user reviews...i like it but have a couple of problems:

all videos i make play well on the camcorder. however, when i export the videos to my pc, they are jerky and skip several frames when i play them in the image mixer 3 se software that was included? is this due to a setting i messed up on the camcorder? i have it setup to run the highest resolution and the standard high quality 24mbps, frame rate is 60i. i don't have the best pc but it's not horrible either: vista home basic, 2gb ram, intel pentium 4 cpu 3.00 ghz

also the video is grainy...i haven't set any effects to the camcorder. for the highest quality video i wouldn't expect it to look that bad.

i haven't really changed any settings. i am very new to using camcorders, so it's probably my mistake...i just don't know what to do.

also, how do i export videos so something other than image mixer can play them? does anyone recommend a video editing/viewing software for me to get? does the sony vegas software only asupport sony camcorders?

thanks for any help to a complete newbie!

Discussion is locked
You are posting a reply to: why do Canon HG20 videos play slow on my pc?
The posting of advertisements, profanity, or personal attacks is prohibited. Please refer to our CNET Forums policies for details. All submitted content is subject to our Terms of Use.
Track this discussion and email me when there are updates

If you're asking for technical help, please be sure to include all your system info, including operating system, model number, and any other specifics related to the problem. Also please exercise your best judgment when posting in the forums--revealing personal information such as your e-mail address, telephone number, and address is not recommended.