MacBooks forum

Resolved Question

Why can't I get any audio when I use my TV as a monitor?

by TezaStone / January 9, 2013 4:08 AM PST

I have an old model (2010) Macbook Pro...the kind that only transfers video but not audio through the hdmi cable.

I have this tv:

http://www.tigerdirect.com/applications/SearchTools/item-details.asp?EdpNo=5247576

With these terminals:

Inputs
Composite
Component In
HDMI
RF Input
Ethernet (LAN)
DVI Audio In
Outputs
Optical Digital Audio
Audio Output
HDMI Ports 2

So I can get video with a mini-dvi to hdmi adaptor and hdmi cable, but I can't get sound.

I didn't know what "in" and "out" meant when it came to terminals ( complete newbie at this!) so I tried an audio cable, an optical digital audio cable and a DVI Audio cable. The audio and optical digital audio didn't work becuse they're output terminals, but neither did the DVI Audio in!

Am I doing something wrong? Is there no way to get sound from my Macbook Pro to this tv???

Any suggestions?

Thank you!

TezaStone has chosen the best answer to their question. View answer
Answer This Ask For Clarification
Discussion is locked
You are posting a reply to: Why can't I get any audio when I use my TV as a monitor?
The posting of advertisements, profanity, or personal attacks is prohibited. Please refer to our CNET Forums policies for details. All submitted content is subject to our Terms of Use.
Track this discussion and email me when there are updates

If you're asking for technical help, please be sure to include all your system info, including operating system, model number, and any other specifics related to the problem. Also please exercise your best judgment when posting in the forums--revealing personal information such as your e-mail address, telephone number, and address is not recommended.

You are reporting the following post: Why can't I get any audio when I use my TV as a monitor?