Laptops forum

Resolved Question

Which of these laptops should I choose?

by ShyOrchid / October 22, 2012 4:45 AM PDT

Hello people,

I'm writing this because, as the tittle states, I need to buy a new laptop and don't know which of my options to choose.

First things first, what kind of things will I need this laptop for? I'm a graphic designer student, so I need something with a good graphics card that can support Photoshop and Illustrator which are the programs I mainly work with. Doesn't have to be the best graphics card ever.

I also use it for everyday web surfing and some light gaming (If Sims 3 can be considered light gaming).

Now, after many months of investigating, I have come down to the next choices:

HP Pavilion dv6

*Processor - AMD Quad-Core A8-4500M (3.0GHz/2.1GHz, 4MB L2 Cache)
*Screen size - 15.6" HD BrightView LED-backlit (1366 x 768)
*Memory - 4GB 1600MHz DDR3 (I'll probably upgrade to 8gb)
*Hard drive -640GB 5400RPM
*Graphics Card - AMD Radeon(TM) HD 7600 Series Discrete-Class Graphics
*Price - $530

HP Pavilion DM4

*Processor - Intel Core i5-3210M (3.1 GHz/2.4 GHz )
*Screen size - 14" HD+ anti-glare LED-backlit (1600 x 900)
*Memory - 8GB DDR-3
*Hard drive - 640GB
*Graphics Card - Intel HD Graphics 4000
*Price - $580

Dell Inspiron 15R

*Processor - Intel Core i5-3210M processor (3.1 GHz/2.4 GHz)
*Screen size - 15.6" High Definition (720p) LED Display with Truelife
*Memory - 6GB Dual Channel
DDR3 SDRAM at 1600MHz
*Hard drive - 500GB/750GB
*Graphics Card - Intel HD Graphics 4000
*Price - $596 (500GB) or $621 (750GB)

-----

I was originally going to buy the HP Pavilion dv6, but HP Pavilion dm4 has a back-lit keyboard that I'm in love with and I'm not sure if the dv6 model I'll buy has one. Another thing I'm worried is the fact that the dv6 has a AMD processor which I have heard are not that durable and heat up very quickly. This last issue is the reason why I thought of the Dell Inspiron 15R and added it to the list.