Headphones & Mp3 Players forum

General discussion

Which MP3 player will allow me to load and use folders?

by scottkelly / April 28, 2006 2:51 AM PDT

Didn't get an answer to this question yesterday and I thought maybe it wasn't clear enough that I'm asking for a player recommendation ..Most, if not all of the MP3s I want to load and use don't have any of the artist-genre-album title info... I'm studying old time fiddle music and make my own MP3s from field recordings... I don't have the time or inclination to edit hundreds music tracks to create this kind of info per tune.... Instead, I have it all wonderfully organized by artist and key on my computer in a neat and efficient folder system. I would like to mirror that system on an MP3 player...

I have the impression that many, if not all players try to make your life ''easier'' by organizing your music for you... Exactly what I don't want... what players out there allow me to set up and use my library the way I want?

I have a friend who has an older zen micro, (512 mb) and he says his will do it, but I'm hoping to get something more like a couple of gigs...

thanks,
Steve

Post a reply
Discussion is locked
You are posting a reply to: Which MP3 player will allow me to load and use folders?
The posting of advertisements, profanity, or personal attacks is prohibited. Please refer to our CNET Forums policies for details. All submitted content is subject to our Terms of Use.
Track this discussion and email me when there are updates

If you're asking for technical help, please be sure to include all your system info, including operating system, model number, and any other specifics related to the problem. Also please exercise your best judgment when posting in the forums--revealing personal information such as your e-mail address, telephone number, and address is not recommended.

You are reporting the following post: Which MP3 player will allow me to load and use folders?