Browsers, E-mail, & Web Apps forum

Which browser is best for my specific needs?

by mkries2 / May 2, 2011 10:34 AM PDT

Hello, this is my first time posting in these forums. Over the past year or so, it seems like my web browsers are becoming less stable. Crashing, freezing... just being a pain in the butt.

Anyways- I'm running a slightly older computer (2005 or so). I realize this is probably my biggest problem, but to compensate for that, I added flash-blocking extensions to Firefox and Chrome, the two browsers I try to run. I also updated my drivers, and performed various virus and malware scans to ensure there was nothing fishy installed or running, but they didn't catch anything.

Still, both browsers seem to crash constantly. I like Chrome better, but I understand that it is a memory-intensive program, and have switched to FF 4.0.1 lately. If I have 2 or more tabs open on either browser, it seems to be a ticking time-bomb for a crash. Again, flash is blocked, and I'm not watching streaming video or anything.

So I guess my questions are- what is the least memory-intensive browser, and what browser would you recommend as being "most stable"? I don't use my computer or the web for anything too complicated (just to check email, read news/blogs, fantasy sports, etc) so I really don't want something with a lot of bells and whistles that will slow down my computer and cause crashes. I just want the best browser for my outdated machine. I was hoping switching from Chrome to FF would help, but FF seems to crash just about as often. I would be willing to use Chrome, FF, IE, Opera, or anything else you might think would work for me. Thanks!

Answer This Ask For Clarification
Discussion is locked
You are posting a reply to: Which browser is best for my specific needs?
The posting of advertisements, profanity, or personal attacks is prohibited. Please refer to our CNET Forums policies for details. All submitted content is subject to our Terms of Use.