Desktops forum

Question

Where is a good place to learn how to build a PC?

by thomasterrible / December 15, 2012 2:46 AM PST

I am interested in building my first desktop PC. I have a processor in mind that is both pretty nice and not too expensive as well as a motherboard to use with it. But really I need to learn how to properly build a desktop so it will turn out correctly and give me all the features that I am after.

What is a good place to learn what what I will need to know to accomplish this so everything works together?
I don't want to make a career of this, just be able to properly assemble a system for my personal use.

I don't have any friends that are knowledgeable enough to help me with this and while I can do simple things with computers and have some electronics training I am completely new to the idea of building my own machine.

Thanks in advance.

Answer This Ask For Clarification
Discussion is locked
You are posting a reply to: Where is a good place to learn how to build a PC?
The posting of advertisements, profanity, or personal attacks is prohibited. Please refer to our CNET Forums policies for details. All submitted content is subject to our Terms of Use.
Track this discussion and email me when there are updates

If you're asking for technical help, please be sure to include all your system info, including operating system, model number, and any other specifics related to the problem. Also please exercise your best judgment when posting in the forums--revealing personal information such as your e-mail address, telephone number, and address is not recommended.

You are reporting the following post: Where is a good place to learn how to build a PC?
This post has been flagged and will be reviewed by our staff. Thank you for helping us maintain CNET's great community.
Sorry, there was a problem flagging this post. Please try again now or at a later time.