Storage forum

General discussion

What's your take on online backup services?

by Lee Koo (ADMIN) CNET staff/forum admin / February 5, 2010 5:38 AM PST

I truly enjoy the Friday afternoon (well, evening in my part of the country) newsletters. I seem to learn tons and tons about things that I never knew I wanted (or needed) to know! So many times I archive the questions because I know that I?ll need to know that soon, or I had that exact same question before-?and probably will again. Or, more often than not, the question is timely for my own issues, and I get to try out the suggestions right away. This is an AMAZING group!

I have never written before, but I want to get the group's collective wisdom on online backup services ( just to use an example). I have had two fatal hard-drive failures in the last year. While I use an external hard-drive to back up data (most of the time), I am starting to really think about using an online backup service. That said, I am trying to understand the various services that these companies offer versus the costs (I am concerned about cost-?an external hard drive is relatively cheap, so I?m not going to pay a small fortune for online services). I am not a large corporation looking for mega-service. I am a sole proprietor, and I?m looking for a safe place for my 500GB of data (actually, well under that amount, but it could grow to that amount) that resides on one computer (Windows) and one external hard-drive.

So, I am looking to all of you to help me better understand the following:

1. How secure from "prying eyes" are these online backup services? I don't know that I have anything that anyone would care about on my computers, but I certainly don't want some random technician accessing my data, just because they were servicing the server on which the backup was stored and felt like "helping themselves."

2. Has anyone had experience with some of the more well-known services? Recommendations?