Audio & Video Software forum

General discussion

What's the simplest way I can convert vinyl records to MP3s?

by Lee Koo (ADMIN) CNET staff/forum admin / December 7, 2012 9:17 AM PST

What is the simplest way I can convert vinyl records to MP3s?

Sadly, my father is getting to a point in his life where getting up and even placing records onto his old turntable to play has become an increasingly challenging task. For the holidays as a gift, I'd like to convert my father's old cherished collection of vinyl records into MP3 format, stick them on an MP3 player, and allow him to enjoy the music right from his chair or bed. I tried for weeks, searching for some of these albums on CDs, so I can convert them to MP3s, but most of his favorites are nowhere to be found. So here I am, asking for your help. I'm not very tech savvy, but I am a fast learner and I do own a PC running Windows XP (3GB of RAM, plenty of hard drive space), but I have no idea where to start or what I need to buy in order for me to accomplish this. Can you give me some recommendations that aren't overly technical? Step by step procedures would be fabulous. I appreciate the help, and if I'm successful, my dad would be even happier!

--Submitted by: Gloria C.
Discussion is locked
You are posting a reply to: What's the simplest way I can convert vinyl records to MP3s?
The posting of advertisements, profanity, or personal attacks is prohibited. Please refer to our CNET Forums policies for details. All submitted content is subject to our Terms of Use.
Track this discussion and email me when there are updates

If you're asking for technical help, please be sure to include all your system info, including operating system, model number, and any other specifics related to the problem. Also please exercise your best judgment when posting in the forums--revealing personal information such as your e-mail address, telephone number, and address is not recommended.