PC Hardware forum

General discussion

What's the best way to transfer data from one PC to another?

by bigelowbkm / November 7, 2006 11:01 PM PST

Hi--I'm a freelance editor and I need to go mobile. In January 2007, I'm getting a laptop (probably a Dell Inspiron 1505). Right now, I have a Dell desktop (Dell Dimension 4550, Pentium 4 CPU, 2.53 GHz, 512 RAM) with Windows XP. Over the past four years, I've created many important files in Word and Excel. I've also downloaded a lot of programs (Adobe Standard 7.0, WinZip, CuteFTP 8, Java, ScanSnap Manager, and others). I don't want to lose anything when I switch to a laptop. Forum people: please help! What's the best way to transfer everything from my desktop to a new laptop?

Discussion is locked
You are posting a reply to: What's the best way to transfer data from one PC to another?
The posting of advertisements, profanity, or personal attacks is prohibited. Please refer to our CNET Forums policies for details. All submitted content is subject to our Terms of Use.
Track this discussion and email me when there are updates

If you're asking for technical help, please be sure to include all your system info, including operating system, model number, and any other specifics related to the problem. Also please exercise your best judgment when posting in the forums--revealing personal information such as your e-mail address, telephone number, and address is not recommended.

You are reporting the following post: What's the best way to transfer data from one PC to another?
This post has been flagged and will be reviewed by our staff. Thank you for helping us maintain CNET's great community.
Sorry, there was a problem flagging this post. Please try again now or at a later time.
If you believe this post is offensive or violates the CNET Forums' Usage policies, you can report it below (this will not automatically remove the post). Once reported, our moderators will be notified and the post will be reviewed.
Collapse -
Ideas...