Office & Productivity Software forum

Question

What is the most secure yet afforable database software?

by Zaiaku / March 20, 2013 3:56 AM PDT

I'd like to organize some data I have into an easy to search database, but I'd also like it to be very secure from anyone both local and remote. OpenOffice and LibreOffice Base looks like nice free software but doesn't seem secure enough, and Microsoft Access doesn't appear too much better. So far from my research Microsoft SQL Server might be the best bet, but I'd like to hear another's opinion on what options are available.

I'm completely new to the world of database technology. If there is both a safe and affordable option I would be very happy to hear of it. Thank you!

Answer This Ask For Clarification
Discussion is locked
You are posting a reply to: What is the most secure yet afforable database software?
The posting of advertisements, profanity, or personal attacks is prohibited. Please refer to our CNET Forums policies for details. All submitted content is subject to our Terms of Use.
Track this discussion and email me when there are updates

If you're asking for technical help, please be sure to include all your system info, including operating system, model number, and any other specifics related to the problem. Also please exercise your best judgment when posting in the forums--revealing personal information such as your e-mail address, telephone number, and address is not recommended.

You are reporting the following post: What is the most secure yet afforable database software?
This post has been flagged and will be reviewed by our staff. Thank you for helping us maintain CNET's great community.
Sorry, there was a problem flagging this post. Please try again now or at a later time.
If you believe this post is offensive or violates the CNET Forums' Usage policies, you can report it below (this will not automatically remove the post). Once reported, our moderators will be notified and the post will be reviewed.