Computer Newbies forum

General discussion

What is the difference between Wallpaper and Screensavers?

by Bron / January 6, 2005 4:40 AM PST

Hi,
I'm new to Wallpapers and Screensavers can you tell me what the difference is please?

I want to put a favorite film star on my desktop ( i think i'm correct in saying as a screensaver )the photo is from an official website, i hope it is safe to download it to my desktop?

Thank you,
Bron

Post a reply
Discussion is locked
You are posting a reply to: What is the difference between Wallpaper and Screensavers?
The posting of advertisements, profanity, or personal attacks is prohibited. Please refer to our CNET Forums policies for details. All submitted content is subject to our Terms of Use.
Track this discussion and email me when there are updates

If you're asking for technical help, please be sure to include all your system info, including operating system, model number, and any other specifics related to the problem. Also please exercise your best judgment when posting in the forums--revealing personal information such as your e-mail address, telephone number, and address is not recommended.

You are reporting the following post: What is the difference between Wallpaper and Screensavers?
This post has been flagged and will be reviewed by our staff. Thank you for helping us maintain CNET's great community.
Sorry, there was a problem flagging this post. Please try again now or at a later time.
If you believe this post is offensive or violates the CNET Forums' Usage policies, you can report it below (this will not automatically remove the post). Once reported, our moderators will be notified and the post will be reviewed.
Collapse -
difference
by glb613 / January 6, 2005 5:12 AM PST

Wallpaper is the picture or background you see when you start your computer.

A screen saver runs when your computer is idle. The length of time your computer needs to be idle before the screen saver starts is determined by the user.