Windows 7 forum

Question

Want to install Win7 on a Win8 Laptop, have a few questions

by Voodoo_Farm / December 6, 2012 9:48 PM PST

Hey there, ive never really installed an OS before (or downgraded) so Im pretty new at this.

Anyways, im going to be buying a new laptop that comes with windows 8 pre installed. Ive tried it before, and havent liked it, so I plan on installing W7. I just have a few questions since this is my first time.

Ive heard you need to boot from disc, but cant you just insert the disk and run it like normal to start the installation? Or will that not work?

If you do need to boot from disc, how would i go about doing this?

Also it has an ssd boot drive and secondary HDD. How do i make sure it installs on the ssd?

And lastly, will i lose all of my drivers? And if i do what are your suggestions for redownloading them all?

Thank you for any help. Like i said ive never installed An OS before so im new at this.

Answer This Ask For Clarification
Discussion is locked
You are posting a reply to: Want to install Win7 on a Win8 Laptop, have a few questions
The posting of advertisements, profanity, or personal attacks is prohibited. Please refer to our CNET Forums policies for details. All submitted content is subject to our Terms of Use.
Track this discussion and email me when there are updates

If you're asking for technical help, please be sure to include all your system info, including operating system, model number, and any other specifics related to the problem. Also please exercise your best judgment when posting in the forums--revealing personal information such as your e-mail address, telephone number, and address is not recommended.

You are reporting the following post: Want to install Win7 on a Win8 Laptop, have a few questions
This post has been flagged and will be reviewed by our staff. Thank you for helping us maintain CNET's great community.
Sorry, there was a problem flagging this post. Please try again now or at a later time.