Tablets forum

Resolved Question

Wacom Intuos5 and Bamboo - Medium or Small

by HELLZ_ANGEL / February 24, 2013 2:39 PM PST

Hi all,

I am a student who has just started Year 11, and I am taking graphic design. I really enjoy the class, and I am looking to see if I could/should/would buy a graphics tablet. I want to buy one, but I am wondering if they are really worth it. I have a pretty low-ish budget (I don't really want to go over the $250 mark if I dont ABSOLUTELY have to), and I have been looking at:

- Wacom Bamboo's (the ones with touch capability, preferably medium sized - 27cmx14cm active area, programmable buttons) priced from $120 (for a small bamboo create) all the way up to $240 (for a medium bamboo create)

-Wacom Intuos5's - $240 for a small, $350 for a medium

First off, my parents dont really want me spending as much as $350 for something that I am not positive I will continually use (I myself dont know if I will get used to it/enjoy using it). I dont have much money that I have available to spend, as I am saving for a car.

I plan on using it sometimes (not every day), for graphic design class, and just having fun drawing my own creations. I do have graphic design class 4 out of 5 days of college, but I may only bring it if I bring my laptop; I cant install the drivers on school computers. If I can bring my computer to college, then I will be using the tablet 4 out of 5 days, maybe more over the weekend for homework/leisure.

So here's my question(s) (FINALLY):
Is it worth spending the extra money for a medium sized tablet? Should I try with a bamboo (small or medium?) first, and see if I like it, and I do like it, go for an intuos? Or should I go straight for an intuos5? If I do, would the small be big enough for me? Would I need to invest in a medium for it to be worth it? Is it worth getting a graphics tablet at ALL?

Please, please, PLEASE be honest; I dont want to waste my hard earned money!

Thanks SO much for your opinions,
HELLZ_ANGEL