Windows Vista forum

General discussion

Vista and touchpad problem

by phsdancer37 / February 11, 2007 5:07 PM PST

Okay, so I have a Gateway MX6650 laptop. I previously had Microsoft XP as my OS I upgraded to Vista Home Premium a few days ago. Here's my problem, I have a Synaptics touchpad and with XP I had figured out how to disable tapping, but it's back since I switched to Vista and driving me crazy, it's my only remaining issue I have to work out between my computer before vista and now.

I went to computer panel and tried to check the setting for the touch pad on there, but I couldn't find anything about tapping. Then I tried to update the driver from the synaptics website, and when I restarted my computer vista popped up saying there was known compatability issues. Also, I'm not used to updating drivers, so what do I click on in the extracted files folders, do I need to uninstall and reinstall the driver?

I really hate the tapping, especially since I'm a student and have to write papers, and the mouse jumping to another line in the page when I'm typing is really annoying, as is the random highlighting of stuff. Anybody got any idea of what I can do?

Post a reply
Discussion is locked
You are posting a reply to: Vista and touchpad problem
The posting of advertisements, profanity, or personal attacks is prohibited. Please refer to our CNET Forums policies for details. All submitted content is subject to our Terms of Use.
Track this discussion and email me when there are updates

If you're asking for technical help, please be sure to include all your system info, including operating system, model number, and any other specifics related to the problem. Also please exercise your best judgment when posting in the forums--revealing personal information such as your e-mail address, telephone number, and address is not recommended.

You are reporting the following post: Vista and touchpad problem