Mac Hardware forum

Question

Virtualization vs Remote desktop

by mpgartland / April 3, 2012 8:48 AM PDT

I am a dedicated Mac user. However, I am also a data analyst. Sometimes the programs I need to run analysis only comes in a Windows version. I deal with stats, data mining, a little SQL type stuff. I even need the Windows Excel due to add-ins, etc. My data is rarely over 10GB. Most is far less than that.

Here is my question- I am better off running a virtualization side on my Mac (ie Parellels) or to buy a Windows desktop/server, load the Windows programs into it and then remote desktop in from my Mac. Thus I am running the analysis process on the Windows machine.

Upsides and downsides? Comments?

Thanks

Answer This Ask For Clarification
Discussion is locked
You are posting a reply to: Virtualization vs Remote desktop
The posting of advertisements, profanity, or personal attacks is prohibited. Please refer to our CNET Forums policies for details. All submitted content is subject to our Terms of Use.
Track this discussion and email me when there are updates

If you're asking for technical help, please be sure to include all your system info, including operating system, model number, and any other specifics related to the problem. Also please exercise your best judgment when posting in the forums--revealing personal information such as your e-mail address, telephone number, and address is not recommended.

You are reporting the following post: Virtualization vs Remote desktop
This post has been flagged and will be reviewed by our staff. Thank you for helping us maintain CNET's great community.
Sorry, there was a problem flagging this post. Please try again now or at a later time.
If you believe this post is offensive or violates the CNET Forums' Usage policies, you can report it below (this will not automatically remove the post). Once reported, our moderators will be notified and the post will be reviewed.

All Answers

Collapse -
Answer