Camcorders

General discussion

Trying to show video tape from Canon ZR830 on tv or laptop

by elsabordelamor / April 29, 2007 6:18 PM PDT

I have just made the first film with my canon ZR830 and I want to show the film on my laptop. I have the USB cable hooked up per the instructions, but my laptop doesn't seem to be recognizing it. Laptop is a Dell Inspiron 2200 (about three years old) and runs Windows XP. I'm pretty new to sharing digital data between devices, so I may be missing something that is simply language based. I can't find in the manual where it refers to transferring data that's on tape. It only refers to transferring data from a memory card. Can I transfer the data from the tape onto a memory card? What are my options for showing this film on my Toshiba plasma screen? My TV only has ports for the red and white cables, non for the yellow...can someone set me straight?

Ultimately, I want to show it on the TV, went to the laptop as plan B. Thank you very much for your input, Digital Newbie (Kim Marie)

Post a reply
Discussion is locked
You are posting a reply to: Trying to show video tape from Canon ZR830 on tv or laptop
The posting of advertisements, profanity, or personal attacks is prohibited. Please refer to our CNET Forums policies for details. All submitted content is subject to our Terms of Use.
Track this discussion and email me when there are updates

If you're asking for technical help, please be sure to include all your system info, including operating system, model number, and any other specifics related to the problem. Also please exercise your best judgment when posting in the forums--revealing personal information such as your e-mail address, telephone number, and address is not recommended.

You are reporting the following post: Trying to show video tape from Canon ZR830 on tv or laptop
This post has been flagged and will be reviewed by our staff. Thank you for helping us maintain CNET's great community.