Mac OS forum

General discussion

transfering files from desktop to external hard drive

by illectuallydemented / September 13, 2007 11:05 AM PDT

hello.

i am a photographer and a new mac user.

as the title says, i'm having trouble transfering a folder into my external hardrive.

i have two usb devices going. one is a compact flash card reader and the other is an external hard drive. i'm trying to copy the card reader's files into my external hard drive.

i've tried copying the folder by simply dragging the folder from the CF card reader to the external hard drive but it won't let me. there is always a message telling me i cannot. this is what i get;

[the item "foldername" could not be moved because "USB-HDD" cannot be modified]

i have various sub folders in the external device i wish my folder to be put in but no matter where i drag it to it'll keep saying the above statement.

i have even tried copying the files onto my desktop first and then dragging it to my external but the same message appears.

how am i supposed back up my files if my storage device "cannot be modified?"

thanks.

Post a reply
Discussion is locked
You are posting a reply to: transfering files from desktop to external hard drive
The posting of advertisements, profanity, or personal attacks is prohibited. Please refer to our CNET Forums policies for details. All submitted content is subject to our Terms of Use.
Track this discussion and email me when there are updates

If you're asking for technical help, please be sure to include all your system info, including operating system, model number, and any other specifics related to the problem. Also please exercise your best judgment when posting in the forums--revealing personal information such as your e-mail address, telephone number, and address is not recommended.

You are reporting the following post: transfering files from desktop to external hard drive